!!> Download ➼ Almost American Girl ➾ Author Robin Ha – Pocket-bikes.us

Almost American Girl A Powerful And Timely Teen Graphic Novel Memoir Perfect For Fans Of American Born Chinese And Hey, Kiddo About A Korean Born, Non English Speaking Girl Who Is Abruptly Transplanted From Seoul To Huntsville, Alabama, And Struggles With Extreme Culture Shock And Isolation, Until She Discovers Her Passion For Comic ArtsFor As Long As She Can Remember, It S Been Robin And Her Mom Against The World Growing Up In The S As The Only Child Of A Single Mother In Seoul, Korea, Wasn T Always Easy, But It Has Bonded Them Fiercely TogetherSo When A Vacation To Visit Friends In Huntsville, Alabama, Unexpectedly Becomes A Permanent Relocation Following Her Mother S Announcement That She S Getting Married Robin Is Devastated Overnight, Her Life Changes She Is Dropped Into A New School Where She Doesn T Understand The Language And Struggles To Keep Up She Is Completely Cut Off From Her Friends At Home And Has No Access To Her Beloved Comics At Home, She Doesn T Fit In With Her New Stepfamily And Worst Of All, She Is Furious With The One Person She Is Closest To Her MotherThen One Day Robin S Mother Enrolls Her In A Local Comic Drawing Class, Which Opens The Window To A Future Robin Could Never Have Imagined

    10 thoughts on “!!> Download ➼ Almost American Girl ➾ Author Robin Ha – Pocket-bikes.us


  1. says:

    Thank you to HCC Frenzy for sending me an ARC of Almost American Girl.I rarely find myself relating to anything these days but this memoir really struck a chord in me Robin paints a beautiful story, her story, of what it s like to live in a place that doesn t feel like home, and how wonderful it is to finally feel at home This ARC did not have fully coloured pages but the artwork was still very nice I m looking forward to picking up a finished copy soon.


  2. says:

    What a fantastic graphic memoir, and I cannot wait to revisit this in full color as the sample pages for that were excellent it ll really enhance the already solid art.Growing up in Korea, Robin knew being raised by a single mother and not knowing her father made her family one that bucked Korean cultural norms She d had friends but always felt a bit like an outsider for not fitting in to those standards So when Robin s mother moves them to Alabama and married a man she d met, Robin finds herself even of an outsider as she struggles to learn English and acclimate to a new step family, as well as peers who are nothing like her She turns to comics for some relief, but even that doesn t help her fit in as much as she d hoped to.When things go sour in her mother s new marriage and Robin s life is once again upended, this time to Virginia, Robin s exposed to an incredible array of diverse students in her new school, including fellow Koreans, and discovers that being Korean American is exactly who she is Immersive, well paced, and full of all of those awkward and painful moments of middle and high school with the challenges of being an English language learner, a teen of color, and immigrant to boot Ha s story is one that will resonate deeply with so many readers Her passion for art and manga shine through, and that that could be such a tool for meeting new people across cultures only amplifies her memoir itself for doing those same things.Pass this along to any teen reader who loves a good memoir, a good comic, an immigrant story, or who has ever felt like an outsider to their culture It s also a fantastic book to pass along to readers who may not understand how many barriers keep new students from acclimating to a new place, as well as those who want to better understand and connect with the new kids in their own schools.Perfect for fans of The New Kid by Jerry Craft but slightly older age wise or American Born Chinese.


  3. says:

    Thanks the BT for sending me an ARC.Excellent graphic novel memoir I am loving the illustrated memoirs that have been published recently, and this one is one of the best This is the perfect story for teens who feel out of place either in school or at home Robin thinks she is just vacationing in American and will return to the home and friends she loves in Korea soon But instead her mom informs her that they re going to stay in Alabama Robin must try to navigate a new home life, new school, and entirely new way of living without knowing English or anyone there who could help her The extreme culture shock is heartbreaking to read but her determination and resilience was moving The ending really explored why we call certain places home and how we find our sense of belonging Teens and readers of any age who can identify with feeling like an outsider looking in will connect with this story, as well as those who have made themselves a new home


  4. says:

    I got an ARC of this for work hopefully I m allowed to say that lol and I really loved it The strength of the mother daughter relationship resonated a lot for me I appreciate how the difficulties memoir writing presents for Asian Americans since I worry about it a lot myselflol so the real heartfelt, warts and all nature of this book was especially moving I also felt it was unique in that it s set mostly in the south during the mid 90s Great read for any YA audience.


  5. says:

    What a wonderful graphic novel A true story about a girl who looses her identity when she leaves Korea and comes to live in America How she struggles to find where she belongs and the struggles she faces navigating middle school and high school in a new country I found the illustrations to be wonderful Lots of details and the colouring is wonderful.The story line flowed well and the flashback scenes were great I just wish there was The story felt rushed at times and I would have liked to be with Robin in the present Especially when she goes back to visit Korea later in life.If you re looking for an easy graphic novel to get into, I highly recommend this one


  6. says:

    Note I read the advance reader copy, with only a few color pages.A wonderfully illustrated, rich memoir about the details of Ha s childhood, particularly moving to and slowly adjusting to the US Chuna Robin depicts her struggles in a relatable yet unique way, from being the child of a single mother in strict, proper Korea to dealing with a new stepfamily and struggling to learn English in Alabama Differences within Korean American immigrant and second generation communities are portrayed The art is as charming yet realistic as the cover, and use of color in the sample pages is wonderful Teen readers will connect even despite the time period difference because of universal matters such as difficult stepsiblings, unpleasant food, bullying, crushes, and other universal story elements Highly recommended for teens and adults regardless of their ethnicity or immigration status.


  7. says:

    A lovely memoir of becoming not just Korean and not just American but both and knowing who you are.


  8. says:

    Thanks to HarperCollins Baker Taylor s ARC program for the ARC This was lovely Will recommend to 7th grade up there is some minor language in a bullying incident


  9. says:

    Kind of young for me I think it would be better marketed as middle grade rather then teen The art was nice, and I preferred black and white to color The narrative sometimes felt like she was glossing over stuff, but it was ultimately a fun but slightly unmemorable read.


  10. says:

    4.5 Stars I related to this way than I thought I would Great read

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *